top of page

EU citizens need a passport to enter the UK!

The United Kingdom left the European Union at midnight on 31 January 2020 (CET). With the entry into force of the withdrawal agreement, a transitional period began which was to last until 31 December 2020.

During the transitional period, many transitional measures were in force, which, among other things, made it easier to cross the border between EU Member States and the United Kingdom.

Croatian citizens, as well as all other EU, EEA (European Economic Area) and Swiss citizens will be able to cross the border of UK with a valid ID card only for a short time, ie until 1 October 2021.

From 1 October, the benefit of crossing the border with an ID card will only be available to certain categories of citizens who have a digitally regulated stay in the UK.

Therefore, Croatian citizens who plan to travel to the UK after 1 October and do not have digital immigration status or a British passport must have a valid Croatian passport.

EU, EEA and Swiss citizens will still be able to go on shorter trips to the UK without a visa. In most cases visa is not required for a stay of less than 6 months.

It is also important to note that the rules for the European Health Insurance Card are changing, so before going to the UK we advise you to visit the official website of the UK Government available by clicking on LINK.

bottom of page